What People Are Saying about South Orange County Animal Hospital

Stewart S (Irvine) 3/20/17

Dr. Kim is above all extremely competent and experienced.  The staff is amazing. My Boxer has had a couple of issues that were immediately identified and treated.  They will review every treatment option while making suggestions on what is best for my pup. All work is done on-site and results are immediate. Looking for a Vet...this is the place.

 

Erin N (Lake Forest) 3/8/17

Where do I start?
The entire experience was fantastic!
From the moment we walked in, me and my two fur babies were welcomed and made to feel at home. The lobby was clean and bright, and the staff was friendly and organized. We had an appointment with Dr. Tani to get a second opinion on several health issues that my two older dogs were experiencing.
She entered our exam room with the warmest, sweetest demeanor. She sat on the floor and greeted both my dogs with love and praise and put them right at ease. She took her time to ask lots of questions and give both of them an extremely thorough exam. We left with a solid game plan and peace of mind.... something we haven't had in a while. My babies are already showing signs of improvement! We feel so thankful that we have such a knowledgeable and intuitive vet.
Thank you Dr. Tani and staff!!!!

 

Melinda G (Laguna Niguel) 2/28/17

Thank you Dr Kim for taking care of our dogs. Your compassion and knowledge is outstanding. We love your hospital and the staff have been all very good about getting us in for appts and meds. We recently boarded our two dogs there for the first time and they dogs did amazing. They did not come home stressed. We usually don't go on trips because finding the best situation for our needs is just a headache. Having SOCAH has been a blessing for our next trip. Thank you again

 

Lin A (Laguna Woods) 2/20/17

My 6 yr. old cat, Nelson, had Stomatitis which is an extremely painful condition of the gums. He would yell out in pain when he tried to yawn or after eating. The only cure for this condition is to remove all of the teeth. I was terrified of this but I didn't want him in pain so he had the surgery. Dr. Tani was so great at explaining every detail of this surgery.  Not only was he eating again the second day after having all of his teeth removed, he started eating hard food again 3 weeks after the procedure, just like Dr. Tani predicted. She and her staff are the best with excellent communication. I know without a doubt I made the right decision for Nelson. He is completely back to normal, playing and chasing the other cat just like when he was a kitten.

 

Christophe H (Costa Mesa) 2/15/17

I can't say enough about how wonderful the entire staff is here! Dr Kim was extremely honest and diligent and always made himself available for us when we needed him. He is an incredible doctor and unimaginably patient. 

The prices are extremely reasonable and we are so happy we found a vet in Orange County that doesn't make you feel like dollar bills and more like part of their family! 

I would not only recommend this office it will be the one and only for us going forward.  I honestly could write an entire novella about our experience however the point of the matter is this after three Pets over 25 years in Orange County and numerous animal hospitals we are so thankful for the team here and appreciate their friendly and professional atmosphere! Thank you sincerely !!!

 

Renna H. (El Paso) 2/7/17

Just had my free initial exam for my mini schnauzer. Everyone working here is so friendly! They gave my little guy so many treats and you can definitely tell that they love their jobs. The office is very clean and they offer complimentary coffee which is awesome. I just recently moved back to OC and am very happy with my choice. Also their prices are very reasonable! Would definitely recommend anyone bring their pets here!

 

Kelle N (Aliso Viejo) 1/17/17

This is the best vet I have ever been too! They genuinely care about your pet and the fees are very reasonable.

 

Christine (Irvine) 10/26/16

I love Dr Kim! I feel more comfortable with him than I've ever felt with any other vet and he cares for our two cats and little Maltese! He is very personal and to top it all off his prices are lower than most!

 

Michelle W (Lake Forest) 10/18/16

Dr. Kim is simply ah-mazing! I adopted Max, an extremely shy (and formerly abused) pup, who is more than a little apprehensive around men. Dr. Kim never pushes Max, and always earns his trust within a few moments of walking into the exam room. Dr. Kim also earns my trust by being incredibly thorough, honest, and knowledgable. I've had dogs for 17 years, and never had a vet like Dr. Kim! He never disappoints. I probably shouldn't say this, but I'd pay twice as much as he charges

 

John J (Irvine) 9/20/16

Our first visit experience to South Orange County Animal Hospital has been positive. The place looked clean and the staff friendly. Dr. Tani was timely and professional. She took the time to listen about my pet's medical and dietary histories. She made some recommendations which I am finding very helpful, only a few days into the treatment. First exam was free and the staff did not try to sell additional services. They just seemed genuinely interested in providing quality experience with no add-ons. A couple of days later, I received a follow up call from one of the personnel (not Dr. Tani) asking if everything is going accordingly to plan. I am certainly hoping that the levels of professionalism and care remain consistent throughout future visits. I will be updating my reviews after our next appointment. For now, we are definitely happy with the service and we highly recommend South Orange County Animal Hospital.

 

Kelly A (Demandforce) 2/21/16

5 stars

Thank you for all your service. Everyone is so friendly and helpful

Thanks dr. Kim

 

Sunday S (Lake Forest) 2/19/16

If you love your pet, bring them to this vet! 
Seriously the best experience I have ever had at a veterinarians office. Every person I interacted with was friendly and helpful. The lobby/waiting room is set up wonderfully, Disney movies playing, coffee and water available, open and airy

 

Lena K (RSM) 12/10/15

Best bet experience thus far. Everyone there is friendly and knowledgable.  Prices are very reasonable and the dr is honest.

 

Alan W (Laguna Woods) 11/14/15

Dr Kim is the very best Vet I've ever met! He cares a lot and is very compassionate for your pet as well as their owners. He gets right down on the floor with your pet and you can see he loves animals.
That (sic) have great rates for boarding your pet when you are away on vacation. We really love them! 
Give them a try and you will be extract (sic) happy

 

Darya D (Laguna Hills) 11/13/15

I couldn't recommend this place enough. Both Dr. Tani and Dr. Kim go out of the way to make your nervous pet comfortable with them The spend time with you and explain everything throughly. I also feel that their pricing is extremely reasonable, unlike some offices that i've been too. They also have a great staff there.

 

Tami W (Lake Forest) 10/12/15

Great staff, kind and thorough doctors, very fair prices!! The doc really went the extra mile in looking for answers for us and educating us about our options, and at no time did we feel he tried to talk us into any unnecessary and expensive tests or treatments. Great experience at the vet, ready to take my other dog in for free first exam as well!

 

Kimberly L (Long Beach) 9/28/25

I highly recommend. It was my first time here and I received a courtesy wellness checkup for my dog. Dr Kim knew how to handle my high temperament dog and was very patient with him. He is very knowledgable and genuinely is concerned not only for my dog but for myself as well and my relationship with my dog. The first visit is free so I recommend trying them out to see if its the right fit for you and your little critter. The staff is friendly and understanding. I trust Dr.Kim and will definitely be coming back to him. Thanks Dr. Kim!

 

Dayna W (Arcadia) 9/22/15

I have come in twice with a sick kitty and with a kitten for a spay.  Everyone was wonderful from the doctors and techs to the receptionists.  I've been able to get in on short notice and not had to wait long. Thanks for everything.

 

Liz L (Marietta) 9/12/15

WOW! WOW! DOUBLE WOW! 
Dr. Kim and his staff are phenomenal! We walked in as new patients without an appointment for an injured paw. Mentally preparing ourselves for a long wait (no appt.), huge bill and negative push back from the front desk staff for not calling ahead, we were absolutely delighted by how warm, personable, attentive and sensitive all the staff was to us and our Maxie Dog's fear.

Waiting time: nill, price: waaaay below what we expected to be out of pocket. I really cannot add anything to enhance Tara G.'s review except that Dr. Kim has an awesome sense of humor! The laughs alone were worth the visit. Looking forward to being a longtime customer!

Will tell everyone I know and meet to bring their fur/feathered babies to South Orange County Animal Hospital. LOVE THEM!

 

Mike A (Irvine) 9/5/15

This is now my 2nd visit to Dr Kim and I'm even more impressed than before. I wanted to do another full blood workup that I just had done 2 months ago at my other vet, and the doctor talked me out of it saying it was a waste of money. I'm very impressed with not only facilities but the prices and his honesty. Can't recommend this place enough, he is my new primary vet!

 

Emily T (Norwalk) 8/30/15

A friend recommended this place to me and I'm so glad we found this place. I saw Dr Tani and she was really sweet not just to me but also to my dog Jenny.  She was knowledgeable, took the time to listen to and answer all my questions, and helped us decide on a treatment that was right for us. Jenny just had fleas and we didn't feel pressured to do unnecessary treatments. We love this place.

 

Tara G. (Irvine, CA) 8/4/15

I have taken my new puppy here three times now and each time I am extremely happy and impressed. 

Everyone that works at this hospital are truly exceptional. The front office staff are always helpful, friendly and quick about getting me checked in and check out. The vet techs always treat me and my dog wonderfully.  

Dr. Tani and Dr. Kim are without a doubt the most passionate and knowledgable vets I have ever come across. Within seconds of meeting either of them you can see their love for all animals and how talented they are. Not only that they both make sure you are part of the exam and show you what they are looking at/for, so that you understand what's going on. Dr. Tani even let my son listen to our dog's heart beat with the stethoscope and explained it to him. It made his day. 

 

C.T. (Orange) 7/30/15

My dog had been in pretty good health, until recently when she broke her toe. I was able to see Dr. Kim quickly.  unfortunately, my dog also had her first seizure when we were hanging out in the waiting room.  Dr. Kim came out immediately to stabilize her. he took amazing care of my dog, and to some extent, of me.  He explained his recommendations and my options fully knowing that I was quite worry. I appreciate that.
His staff was also great.  you can tell that they all love what they do. just knowing that tells you that your beloved pet is in good hands. 
Thanks Dr. Kim and staff!!!

 

Stephanie G. (Laguna Hills) 7/17/15

I met Dr. Tani and immediately knew she was perfect! The staff is super nice and accommodating . Never once did I feel pressured into doing any procedures(unlike other places I had gone to). Dr. Tani talks to you like she's a good friend that's concerned about your pets health just as much as you are ! And you can TRULY see that she and Dr. Kim really love animals! Oh and they have a little pig at the front, which I hope they make him the mascot because he is so darn cute!

 

Vanessa G. (Cypress) 7/13/15

I took my kitten here a couple different times for shots and neuter and I have nothing but great things to say about this place. Their prices are affordable and service is AWESOME! Dr. Kim is a very cool and funny doctor and made me feel very comfortable leaving my baby kitty with him. Christina at the front counter was very sweet as well as the other staff . I have been to other vets that smell, but this place is so clean and very modern looking . KUDOS!! South oc animal hospital . ( Arnold Schwarzenegger voice - I WILL BE BACK!!) :)

 

Jacqueline G. (Foothill Ranch) 6/28/15

Dr. Tani and the staff at SOCVH were amazing! From the moment I called to make the appointment to the moment we left, everyone was so helpful and friendly. Dr. Tani loved on my dog for a good 10 minutes before she started checking him out. She was very personable and took the time to examine him. She diagnosed him with skin allergies and recommended a few home remedies and an inexpensive medication, rather than costly meds and multiple tests! If you are in need of a new vet, I highly recommend SOCVH!

 

Selina O.  (Westminster) 6/19/15

I owe my puppy's life to Dr. Kim and the amazing staff at South Orange County Hospital. I seriously cannot thank these people enough. Such beautiful souls and they truly do care for your pet as of its their own. There's no question, if you want the very best care at reasonable prices for your pet, go to South Orange County Hospital. They give you so many options for your pet even If you aren't the most financially stable.

 

Lisa L. (Mission Viejo) 6/7/15

If your a true pet lover, then picking a vet for your animal is like choosing a pediatrician for your child. This place is seriously a diamond in the rough. In a sea of vets to choose from, I was fortunate to have found this place. As soon as you walk in the front door, you are greeted by friendly smiling faces. Not overwhelming, just welcoming. The facility itself is very impressive. Very clean, modern and just overall cool. The staff is absolutely amazing. From the docs to the nurses, to the front office. Professional, friendly, warm, knowledgable, and genuinely concerned. My dog loves going to the vet. He doesn't mind the shots or the exam, but he hates the thermometer lol ;) the staff is very aware of his discomfort and makes sure to do everything to ease him. He really thinks the nurses are his friends. I won't go anywhere else. How could I? My dog runs to the nurses and try's to cuddle them, and he is supposed to be a man eating German Shepard ;) before the exam is over the doc makes sure he/she has addressed all of your concerns. They take the time to even talk about behavior issues, targeted at your specific household. 
Thank you SOC ANIMAL HOSPITAL. Thank you for caring about your community, and devoting yourselves to top notch animal care. I know you all care for each and every animal that comes through that door. 
Ps. Please take a minute to peek behind the reception area and give the little pig Jimmy Dean, some attention. But don't tell him he's a pig, because he thinks he's a dog. Adorable!

 

Toni C. (Foothill Ranch) 5/28/15

I loved our first visit. We found our vet! The Office staff and the vets were extremely friendly and very loving to my dog, coco. They took their time with us and answered all my questions. The office is very nice - roomy and cute!

 

Michelle T. (Lake Forest) 5/20/15

I really love the fact that your office is open on Saturday and Sunday. It is so hard when your pet is sick and you have to wait until Monday and employers don t seem to understand when you have to take time off to take care of you pet. This was my first visit and I found the hospital clean and the people really friendly.  When I asked about pricing on shots etc they seemed very competitive. I will be back!

 

Priscilla R. (Lake Forest) 5/11/2015

Came across this place via Google.  Dr. Tani is fantastic, very hands on, talks to our dog as much as she talks to us.  AAA+.  I'm so glad to have found this place.  Prices are REALLY GOOD and first time exam is free.  The reception and all staff at this place are uber friendly, including the cute little pet pig, Jimmy Dean.  Thank you for taking care of our Bulldog, Bentley and we will be back with all of our pets!

 

Jessica S. (Anaheim) 4/20/2015

Came in for a recheck a week after my dog was neutered, and everything looks good.  The staff has been so sweet and upbeat and took very good care of my yorkie.  The procedure went amazing and the incision site is super tiny can hardly see anything.  Dr. Kim and Dr. Tani explained everything to me step by step about how the procedure is going to take place.  Knowing me I am a worry wart and a big baby about leaving my baby anywhere, but I'm glad and relieved that I finally found a place that I can trust and make this place our official veterinarian go to.   I'm from Cerritos and I drive about half an hour to get here and if I'm willing to drive that distance that only means my pet is well taken care of and the staff, doctors know how to calm my nerves.  Love this place!!

 

Robon D. (Tustin) 4/6/2015

So glad we found this place. Dr kim and his staff are amazing. We adopted a dog from the animal shelter and it ended up getting pneumonia. Dr kim was always so positive and helped us get Hairy through it. Thank you Dr kim and your staff for everything

 

Teresa D. (Rancho Santa Margarita) 3/20/2015

This facility came as a referral from a best friend of mine and I am extremely glad that she put me in touch with them!! We had to take our pup there for boarding/doggie day care and the staff and Doctor(s) are amazing!! They have great bed side manor, they're helpful and genuinely care about the pets that come into the office!! Our little guy is kinda like the office mascot! :) 

I would highly recommend this animal hospital to everyone!! The facility is brand new, plenty of parking and the best staff! 

 

Frank L. (Trabuco Canyon) 3/26/2015

Our first time here Dr Kim is taking good care of our Chihuahua Lance. The staff is very friendly. The  facility is clean. Dr Kim is very professional he took time to explain everything to me and was gentle with Lance. Prices are very reasonable

 

Deb K. 3/2015

Always going out of his way to help in any way he can.  Like a country doctors practice.  Very knowledgable.  

 

Sherene P. 3/2015

Dr. Kim corresponded with me about my really ill cat via email. His advice and help were invaluable to getting her well and getting us through a difficult worrisome time. Very happy to see progress on the location opening soon.

 

Gail B. 3/2015

Dr Kim is awesome. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone.

 

Robbie H. 2/2015

Dr. Kim is an amazing vet. I can't wait for him to have his new animal hospital up and running. Dr. Kim recently helped save my cat's life after another vet made a mistake during surgery. He also helped us review the medications that my pets had been prescribed for years by another vet and realized some were not necessary. My pet's health improved dramatically once taken off the potent unnecessary medications. I live in long beach but am going to travel to take my pets to Dr. Kim. His skill, dedication, passion and ethics are what I admire and I won't take my pets anyplace else!

 

Jessica B. (Huntington Beach) 11/6/2014

"We are so lucky to live right across the street from this vet! Even if we didn't, it would be worth the drive for the care that Dr. Kim gives to our pets! We have been in and out of the vet's office for the past 8 months or so with our black lab with various issues.

She was recently diagnosed with Addison's Disease and Dr. Kim couldn't have given her better care! He is always caring, listens intently and answers ALL questions. I've had him on the phone for 20 minutes and have emailed him several times and he always takes the time to make sure I am knowledgable! 

He NEVER pressures us like other vets, to do more testing when unnecessary and has helped us try to keep the cost down in any way he can (this disease is PRICEY!!). 

Thank you so much Dr. Kim!"

 

Melanie S (Huntington Beach) 1/16/2014

"I have been going here for over 10 years and would not go anywhere else. Everyone is so nice that works there and takes so good care of the animals.

Not only is it a vet but also has boarding. I like this as my dogs are older, so they consistently have care when they stay there.

Dr. Kim is SO SO nice and truly cares about the animal and how you feel. My dogs both had surgeries and he was the one to handle.

I live in South HB, but I always make the drive to come here."

 

Eve F (West Los Angeles) 8/27/2013

"Dr. John Kim is absolutely phenomenal.  We took our kitten in for surgery and it was unbelievable how tentative, thorough and caring he was.  He called us twice daily with updates and even sent photos of her.  I have never experienced such care from a vet and am so grateful for his taking care of her and easing our concerns."